UAE bans cucumbers from 4 European countries


UAE imposed a temporary ban on import of cucumbers from a number of European countries including Spain, Germany, Denmark and the Netherlands.
A resolution issued by Dr. Rashid Ahmed bin Fahad, Minister of Environment and Water, stipulates that other produce of vegetables imported from these countries will be allowed into the countries provided that importers present a health certificate stating they are free from E.coli bacteria.
The ban was based on information received from international food safety agencies and news reports by international news agencies and TV stations on contamination of the cucumbers in some EU countries with the E.coli bacteria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here