Winners of 4th Emirates Classic Car Festival at Downtown Dubai honoured


Thousands of spectators soaked up the unprecedented spectacle of classic cars and motorbikes that were displayed on Emaar Boulevard in Downtown Dubai, as well as the colourful parades, to mark the fourth Emirates Classic Car Festival.

The annual event was organised by Emaar Properties in association with the UAE Ministry of Culture, Youth and Community Development; and the Automobile & Touring Club of the United Arab Emirates (ATCUAE) and the official representative of FIVA; the ‘Fédération Internationale des Véhicules Anciens’ – the worldwide authority for historic vehicles. The event was held in partnership with Chevrolet Centennial and Blancpain.

The Emirates Classic Car Festival was a key component of the 40th UAE National Day celebrations in Downtown Dubai, described as ‘The Centre of Now.’
The winners of the competitions including a public poll were awarded at the closing ceremony of the Festival. Eminent classic car experts scored the cars on the basis of car originality, engine cleanliness, original car colour, historical car value, finishing and aesthetics.

Renowned personalities associated with the Festival including Mohammed Ben Sulayem, President of the ATCUAE, and Horst Brüning, were also present at the ceremony.
The prestigious “FIVA Award” granted by Horst Brüning, President of FIVA, for the second time in the region was won by the Baker Family for their Rolls Royce Phantom II, 1930 for the ‘Best Preserved Original Car;’ while Imtiaz Sheikh was bestowed with the ‘Best of Show Emirates Classic Car Award 2011’ for his Ferrari Lusso 250 GT/L 1964.

The other winners for their cars in various categories are: Sheikh Dhyab Al Nahyan, for his Mercedes 280 SE 1970 Coupe (UAE Award); Hisham Al Rifai for his Oldsmobile Tornado 1967 (Dubai Award); Chris Hardling for his Alvis TA21 1953 (Emaar Award); Hamid Riza Nadali for his Ford F100 1955 (Classic Truck Award); Beit Al Zubair Museum, for their Bugatti Type 23 1925 (Pre-World War II Award); Rafiq Mahmood for his Austin 7 (Heritage Award); Ali Abdulla Al Shaffar for his Chevrolet Impala SS 1962 Coupe (Modern Classic); Jamal Salam for his Cadillac Coupe Deville 1954 (American Award); The Al Attar Family for their Corvette 1959 (Chevrolet Centennial Award); Nasser Ali Abbas for his Chevrolet el Camino (The Public’s Choice (1)); Abtin Elahitard for his Mini Cooper 1989 (The Public’s Choice 2nd Runner Up); Joe Haj Ali for his Rolls Royce Camargue 1979 (Special Coachworks Award); Tariq Al Qimzi for his Rolls Royce Corniche 1982 (Club Merit Award); and Mathew Brett for his Jaguar E Type V12 1973 (Blancpain Award).

Winners for the ‘Classic Motorcycle Award’ was Majeet Kwatra for his 1933 Harley Davidson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here