Zayed Future Energy Prize Recognises 2013 Finalists


Following the distinguished Zayed Future Energy Prize awards ceremony last night (15 January) that honored eight winners across five categories, Olafur Ragnar Grimsson, president of the Republic of Iceland and Chairman of the jury of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, and Dr Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber, Director General of the Prize, today presented certificates of appreciation to the 13 remaining finalists, commending them for their continued contribution to the renewable energy and sustainability sectors.

The recognition ceremony was held at the ‘Presentation Theatre’, a key area for conferences and panel discussions within the Zayed Future Energy Prize stand at the three-day World Future Energy Summit (WFES) 2013 at ADNEC.

The finalists included BYD Company Limited and Sharp Corporation in the Large Corporation category; Fraunhofer ISE and Rocky Mountain Institute in the NGO category, as well as Clean Power Finance, EcoNation, Grameen Shakti, and Mainstream Renewable Power in the SME category. Finalists recognised in the Global High Schools category were Bronx Design and Construction Academy (Americas), Queen Elizabeth II High School (Europe), Waterford Kamhlaba School (Africa), Fujimigaoka Educational Institution and Kalkeri Sangeet Vidyalaya (Asia).

President Gr?msson said: “The finalists were selected after a rigorous evaluation of their innovative technologies and in the case of the high schools – their ability to identify in a practical and efficient manner ways in which to make their schools more sustainable. We received a high caliber of nominations from across the world this year and the finalists represent organisations that have outdone themselves in their commitment to the well-being of our future. I thank them for participating in this year’s Zayed Future Energy Prize and wish them continued success in their efforts to make a difference to our planet.” Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber said: “The Zayed Future Energy Prize is growing annually into a community that encompasses the various facets of renewable energy and sustainability. Our finalists represent the future of the renewable energy and sustainability landscape and have demonstrated their capacity to embody the spirit of the Prize. In bringing these innovators together – in recognising their relentless efforts towards a sustainable future – we honour the legacy left behind by our late founding father and ensure that we are fulfilling the vision of our leadership today.” The Zayed Future Energy Prize 2013, which culminated a year-long, four-stage evaluation process, honored Siemens, d.light design, Ceres, and Dr. Jose Goldemberg. In the Global High Schools category, the winners include Secundaria Tecnica 120 School from Cuernavaca, Mexico (Americas); Okehampton College in the UK (Europe); Kirya Secondary School (Africa); and Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Bangladesh Islamia School, based in Abu Dhabi (Asia).

Nominations for this year’s Zayed Future Energy Prize were launched in March 2012 through a globally targeted campaign. In July, at the close of nominations, the Prize received a record 579 entries from 88 countries, marking a 36 percent increase over last year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here